•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Classic DayLite Telescope - Help?

classic
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Irishluck12

Irishluck12

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 August 2020 - 05:24 PM

Hi! I’m pretty new to telescopes in general and have actually been thinking of buying one recently and then I ended up inheriting this from my uncle. It’s in pretty good shape as far as I can tell. Have done some research on it and know it’s a Circle K and stamped with DayLite as the brand? Just wondering if there’s a manual out there anywhere and what I should do, if anything, to clean the lenses. Most of them are pretty clear but the finder seems like it has some issues and possibly a crack but not certain, just see a line halfway across when I look through it. Would also really like to know the age of it!
It also has a couple different lenses and stuff that I know absolutely nothing about.

Couldn’t figure out how to upload photos here so made an imgur album https://imgur.com/gallery/d4uPwGe

#2 Kasmos

Kasmos

Gemini

• Loc: So Cal

Posted 07 August 2020 - 12:13 AM

I believe this manual for a Sans & Streiffe 600 is for the same telescope but with a different brand name.

http://geogdata.csun...eiffe/ss600.pdf

It's likely from the mid to late 60s.

The line you see in the finder is probably what's left of one of the crosshairs, the other is likely broken.

Google cleaning telescope lens and read a few different guides before attempting it. Improper cleaning will damage the lens. You might also Google different topics on telescopes and read up and or watch some videos.

If it came with a small Sun filter do not use it as they can break and cause blindness!

Edited by Kasmos, 07 August 2020 - 12:15 AM.

• cookjaiii likes this

#3 Irishluck12

Irishluck12

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter