•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope speed and image scale question

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 davesastrophotos

davesastrophotos

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Michigan

Posted 06 August 2020 - 07:59 PM

Hi All,
I’ve been doing astrophotography for 5 years now and have gradually expanded my kit over that time as my skill level slowly improves.  Currently my kit includes a Celestron 6se, Skywatcher Esprit 80, Skywatcher AZEQ6GT, ZWO ASI 1600mm pro, and ASI 120mm.  I’ve been doing a lot of nebula imaging over the past year and am looking to do more galaxy and potentially planetary imaging.  As a result I'm looking to purchase a new telescope that fits my current mount which will improve my imaging in these two areas.  It’s also worth noting that I don’t have an observatory and need to setup and tear down for each imaging session.

My first thought was the Celestron Edge series, specifically the 9.25.  However I understand that at f/10 the Edge would be the same speed as my 6se (with ff/reducers it brings this down to f/7 and f/6.3 respectively).  This brings me to my question: how much of an improvement could I realistically expect to see by stepping up from the 6se to the Edge?  As the two imaging systems are roughly the same speed I understand that my imaging time would be roughly the same (to capture the same brightness of the target galaxy), have I understood this correctly?  I know there would be an improvement in image scale between the two (with ff/reducers its a difference between 945mm focal length and 1645mm) but I'm wondering if this would lead to a significant improvement in resolution between the two systems?