•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I have a question about what I'm looking for

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 BillyBlast01

BillyBlast01

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Ozark Mountains Of Arkansas For Now

Posted 07 August 2020 - 08:44 PM

Hey everyone, I have been out of and away from telescopes for about 12 years. I am going to get back into it and I have a question or two. I want to go with the Orion SkyView Pro 8" Equatorial Reflector Telescope and I will need a motor drive to be able to take pictures. Has anyone used this mount and if yes what motor drive do I need to do the job I am wanting to do. I will say I am a disabled Army Veteran so I don't have the money to buy everything at once I will be doing a little at a time. I was thinking about the Orion 4.5 but after talking with others here I have to agree I won't be happy with that small of a telescope. Any Suggestions, advice etc will be greatly appreciated.

#2 Stelios

Stelios

Voyager 1

• Moderators
  • Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 07 August 2020 - 08:56 PM

Hate to be bearer of bad news, but the telescope is way too big for the mount *for DSO astrophotography*. It would be fine for visual and (if equipped with a motor) planetary astrophotography. 

So even if you find a cheaper motor than the upgrade kit Orion provides with GoTo capabilities, you would be outfitting a doomed army. :(

At real small budgets, it's perhaps best to get a scope for visual, and get separately a camera tracker and a used DSLR for astrophotography. 

#3 BillyBlast01

BillyBlast01

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Ozark Mountains Of Arkansas For Now

Posted 07 August 2020 - 09:01 PM