•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Paul67

Paul67

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Colchester UK

Posted 08 August 2020 - 06:10 AM

Morning all, I am a complete novice and have no experience with binoculars or optics. If I have 20X50 binoculars does that mean because there are 2 X 50mm lenses I get the equivalent of a 100mm telescope aperture?

#2 scottinash

scottinash

Mariner 2

• Loc: Tennessee, USA

Posted 08 August 2020 - 07:03 AM

I’m sure there will more educated binocular experts that will chime in here popcorn.gif but I think a pair 50mm binoculars will have the light gathering potential equivalent to a 70mm scope (basically a 1.4 factor). However, there are benefits that go along with both your eyes getting input at the same time as opposed to only one eye. Exit pupil, quality of the binocular objectives, prisms, etc all come into factor as well.     

Edited by scottinash, 08 August 2020 - 07:15 AM.

#3 DeanD

DeanD

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: South Australia

Posted 08 August 2020 - 07:13 AM

Hi Paul, and welcome!

There are two issues here.

1) The resolution of a telescope/binocular is dependent on the diameter of the objective lens: the bigger the lens, the better the resolution (ie: you can see finer detail). So a 100mm lens will resolve finer detail than 50mm, even when both eyes are involved.

2) The brightness of the view at the same magnification is a function of the area of the lens (proportional to the square of the diameter). 2, 50mm lenses as in binoculars have a combined area equivalent to a single lens of ~70mm diameter (ie: 50x sqrt2)