•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to find a dark site

astrophotography beginner observing observatory
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 emad

emad

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:00 PM

Hello everyone. Hope you're all safe and healthy.

I am new to observing the night sky and don't know of a dark site near me. I am from Erie, PA, US. How can I find out of a public place where I can go at any time of the day? I used this website to find out where the light pollution is minimal from my city but don't know how to find a public place for observing at night.

Emad

• clusterbuster likes this

#2 clusterbuster

clusterbuster

Apollo

• Loc: Tampa Bay, Fl.

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:08 PM

Have you tried to contact a local Astronomy club near you ?  They probably observe at a Dark Sky site...

Mark

• emad likes this

#3 John Carlini

John Carlini

Ranger 4

• Loc: Northern Wyoming

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:15 PM

This tool may help:

https://www.lightpol...FFFFFTFFFFFFFFF

• chrysalis and emad like this

#4 Napp

Napp

Vanguard

• Loc: Florida, USA

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:20 PM

The best way is to contact your local astronomy club.

• emad likes this

#5 ShaulaB

ShaulaB

Vanguard

• Loc: Missouri

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:44 PM

If you visit this site, you can search for astronomy clubs near you. https://www.astrolea...clubs-usa-state

Experienced observers will give the best advice. Always prioritize safety when you are out there.

Best of luck!

• emad likes this

#6 BlueMoon

BlueMoon

Viking 1

• Loc: South Central Idaho, USA

Posted 09 August 2020 - 09:53 PM