•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie on AP file names

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 unleaded55

unleaded55

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Kansas City, MO

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:24 AM

Hello all CN'ers!

I am just getting started and having watched a few YouTube videos on AP. I see the trials of setup and guiding control in detail, but very little have indicated on the naming of files captured from either DSLR or Cooled CCD/CMOS cameras. I know that there are Lights, Darks, Bias, and Flats which are taken at the time of capture or separately to best show the lens or telescope optics train characteristics. BUT, I don't know of the what, when, where, those files are transferred from storage to a computer for processing. Do the files coming from the cooled cameras come named?  I know the DSLR are commonly named according to the file naming convention of the manufacturer.  I presume the files are re-named by the author to indicate all the information so that they can be aligned, registered, and calibrated.  True?

Sorry for the interruption to your normally scheduled viewing. :-)

Peace,

Stuart

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:33 AM

The capture software (APT, NINA, SGP) generally has a complex name scheme (user defined) that has type, as well as camera, target, camera temp, ISO/Gain, Binning, etc...

If you are just using a DSLR, without capture software, it would be up to you to change the names in a File Explorer, or manually put the files in folders by type.  You have to designate the file type in the stacking software, such as DSS.

#3 endlessky

endlessky

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Padova, Italy

Posted 10 August 2020 - 08:36 AM