•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

M15 new try

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 bignerdguy

bignerdguy

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lewisville, TX

Posted 10 August 2020 - 03:45 PM

Ok, so i am finding doing clusters to be a challenge as every time i take shots the centers are ALWAYS over exposed.  I tried to get around this by doing 20 second subs but that still was too much.  Next time i will try around 5 seconds and see what happens.  This shot is a combination of around 125x - 20 second exposures aligned, stacked, and dark/flat/bias adjusted in MaximDL. Processing was done mostly in MaximDL this time as i am still learning how the processing features work and only had to make a few minor exposure corrections in Photoshop to reduce some of the noise from the black background.

M15.jpg

#2 ELDavis

ELDavis

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ft Myers, Fl and Keystone, Co

Posted 10 August 2020 - 03:58 PM

I had a similar problem when converting from 32 bit to 16 bit in Photoshop. Now I export from DSS in 16 bit before importing to Photoshop.

• wrnchhead likes this

#3 F.Meiresonne

F.Meiresonne

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Eeklo,Belgium

Posted 10 August 2020 - 04:04 PM

My limited experience learned me however they don't need long subs..to get a descent image.

and not even many subs ...

What kind of scope did you use?

#4 bignerdguy

bignerdguy

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 August 2020 - 06:45 PM

My limited experience learned me however they don't need long subs..to get a descent image.

and not even many subs ...

What kind of scope did you use?

I used the Meade 8" mentioned in my signature.

#5 bignerdguy

bignerdguy

Messenger

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 August 2020 - 06:46 PM