•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Erratic behavior of QHY camera in NINA

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 siriusarcher

siriusarcher

Messenger

• topic starter
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 11 August 2020 - 01:22 AM

Hi everyone, 

I'm running a fairly straight-forward imaging system with a Skywatcher AZEQ6, Explore Scientific 127ED, and a 50mm guide scope. The QHY 163C camera and QHY 5LII mono guide camera are connected through a 12V powered USB hub on the main scope. The hub and mount are each directly connected to a brand new ASUS Windows 10 pro laptop via their own USB cables (EQDIR in the case of the mount). I'm controlling everything with NINA 1.10, the latest build. 12.8 volts of regulated DC power are supplied by an Alinco dm-340 switching power supply. I have been using NINA with this set-up for about 6 months, mostly very happily, getting it to successfully plate solve, focus, and execute sequences on targets. It has been a joy to use until the past week or two.

Over the past three imaging sessions I have been getting a persistent cluster of issues in NINA which I think may be all related. I dearly hope someone here can help me determine the cause.

1. My main imaging camera seems to work properly for between 5 and 10 minutes or so (starts to cool to reach its set-point for imaging, will collect images for plate solving and auto focusing which NINA displays) but then appears to begin a series of random wild temperature and power swings, with temperature readings of 6000C, all of this displayed on the NINA camera panel. It stops delivering images either from a sequence or from a snapshot command. The camera appears to be maintaining its connection to the laptop via USB, but according to NINA, is seriously misbehaving.