•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Will this Flattener Work?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 venyix

venyix

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 August 2020 - 03:44 AM

I recently purchased this bad boy...

https://www.bhphotov...tml/accessories

However, I noticed some post stating that the blurring on the edges might be pretty bad in a crop sensor. So I'm looking for a flattener, but as I'm kind of new to all of this, I don't know what will work and if it will give me the results I'm looking for. This is the only flattener I can find (that is in stock) that might work for it, but I'm unsure. Any advice would really be appreciated, and also any general tips would be great. For now my plan is to plop this onto my star adventurer and take some images. However, with the slow speed of the refractor, the flattener would help. Currently I'm using a Meade 102mm without a flattener, and the images are...disappointing.

Here is the flattener in question...

https://www.telescop...field flattener

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 11 August 2020 - 11:34 AM

Optical design is sophisticated.  That flattener was designed for a specific 80mm F7.5 lens.  It might work for your scope, might not.  Playing with spacing might help.

At F6.5 that cheap lens is not likely to do well, speeding it up is not likely to help.

But your real problem is that scope on that mount.  The mount is very inadequate.  There are three important things in astrophotography.

The mount, the mount, and the mount.

For the 102 I'd want at least a Sirius (HEQ5) or an iOptron 30PRO.  All about $1200.  The StarAdventurer is mostly good for a short camera lens, not to exceed 200mm.  That's what it was designed for.

Edited by bobzeq25, 11 August 2020 - 11:38 AM.

• F.Meiresonne likes this

#3 venyix

venyix

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter