•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Barlow hitting bottom of focuser

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Jimceez

Jimceez

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Central PA

Posted 11 August 2020 - 07:34 AM

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the hobby and just bought a used Orion DOB XT8.  I have some questions that maybe someone can help.

1. I tried using the Barlow that came with the scope with the 10 mm & 25 mm eyepieces but it seems I’m hitting the bottom of the focuser.

2. I was looking at Jupiter last night with the 10mm and it just doesn’t seem crisp at that magnification.  Saturn looked better so I’m wondering about atmospheric distortion.

I’ve tried to collimating the scope as best I can.  I’ve done it 4 times in the last 4 days thinking it may be off.  I have a bit of OCD so a miss is as good as a mile to me. I made my own. Cap and have a Celestron Cheshire piece.

any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

#2 rhetfield

rhetfield

Viking 1

• Loc: Suburban Chicago, IL, USA

Posted 11 August 2020 - 07:56 AM

On collimation, take a look at the following writeups:

https://garyseronik....to-collimation/

https://garyseronik....pe-collimation/

The scope was originally sold with only the 25mm.  The rest were added later by the prior owner.

I like to focus on Saturn to get the rings crisp, then go to Jupiter.  Jupiter sometimes suffers from too much brightness.  I sometimes add a variable polarizer to cut it back a little.  If you are too much past bedtime, Jupiter will be lower in the atmosphere than Saturn and may see a little more intererence.

I would take a picture of the barlow and of the focuser and post it.  Maybe somebody will see something out of wack with it.