•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

seeing conditions better after rain

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 skywatcher01

skywatcher01

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Slovakia, N48° E17°

Posted 11 August 2020 - 06:16 PM

Hi

I am new in astronomy, but I just realized  that in hot summer days ( 35 Celsius ), i have better seeing conditions on planets (Saturn ) with my Dob after rain, when temperature goes down.

Saturn is sharp in this conditions in my location ( Latitude‎: ‎48° )

• ShaulaB likes this

#2 Migwan

Migwan

Vanguard

• Loc: Meeechigan

Posted 11 August 2020 - 07:16 PM

Sometimes right after a cold front, it does just that.   The jet stream being so far up north much of this summer, at least relative to Michigan, also helps.    

On the other hand,  the best non-winter seeing conditions that I have experienced here came with the first two heat waves this summer.  Other than the jet being way up to the Hudson Bay, I haven't a clue why.   I should note that I have only four years experience with telescope, so this circumstance might not be new.

jd 

#3 photoracer18

photoracer18

Soyuz

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 11 August 2020 - 07:21 PM

Best time is heavy still air in a pre-fog condition. the still air being the key. In the 45 years I lived in MD it only happened once. Lucky for me it was during the 2005 Mars Opposition when both my 6" F15 refractor and my early C-9.25 both reached nearly 600x.

#4 skywatcher01

skywatcher01

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 11 August 2020 - 08:13 PM

Hi Photoracer, You mentioned Mars... 

Only thing I see on mars is red ball :)  nothing else,  It has too much reflections, so I used moon filter,

I can see only ball from orange to red, nothing else, 

Before I tried also all color filters I had, but no change.