•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie here - need advice on bino upgrade options

binoculars
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 benedictine

benedictine

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 August 2020 - 06:18 AM

Hi everyone. Newbie here who has scanned through CN many times before making purchases.

I’ve got some kit already: Olympus DPS I 8x40 and 10x50, Celestron Skymaster 15x70 and Bushnell Legend L 10x42s alongside my recently acquired Meade LX65 5” MCT. My toddler expressing some interest in planets and astronomy recently finally gave me an excuse to get that telescope I’d been wanting to get since I was six years old (it’s for him, I swear, hahahahaha!).

Am looking at upgrading my current DPS I 8x40s to something with better coatings as I’ve been finding the image to be a little dim when I’ve been out and about looking up at the Milky Way at night (which is just barely visible to my naked eye from the Bortle Class 5 suburban skies I’m under). I’m currently tossing up between these options if I’m staying under AUD$500:
- Bushnell Legacy 8x42,
- Olympus EXPS I 8x42, or
- Olympus PRO 8x42s.

If I save up a bit more, I was considering to instead go for a pair of Swarovski Habicht 7x42s but really not sure if that’s really the right thing to do (they are just under A$1200) even though these should be a lot brighter based on their light transmission specs.

At some point in time the DPS I 10x50s will also get upgraded but wondering if I’m better served by just using the 10x42 Legend L’s I have instead and putting upgrades for that towards the 8x40/42 upgrade instead.

Thoughts from all of you more experienced folks on here would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Voyager 1

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 12 August 2020 - 07:00 AM

Welcome to the forum.