•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Another rookie steps up to the plate

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Luke82

Luke82

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 August 2020 - 03:27 AM

Greetings all!

I am new to the sport of astronomy and super excited to start exploring space. It has already been an exciting journey so far - very busy doing my research and my brain has been overloaded with new ideas – I had no idea the variety (and cost) of equipment available.  This forum seems like an excellent community and has been my #1 source for information and points of view so thanks for everything so far!

In order to pursue my new found passion I have been forcing my girlfriend to watch Star Trek and subtly commenting “ah wouldn’t it be nice to be able to see cool things like that’ and tagging her on asto-images on bookface. With the backdrop skilfully set I have just purchased Skywatcher 12” Goto dob as a gift for her birthday… I am sure she will love it 😉

Now it is critical that my.. I mean her first views are WOW moments – so clearly the stock standard plossls that come with the scope will not suffice… definitely want to get some of that spacewalk goodness! Unfortunately, after purchasing the telescope and then a spacesuit I do not have enough cash left for set Ethos, or 82 Naglers, or ES100/92s. To that end – been reading heaps on this site and got some ideas on eyepieces I can afford. 

I know this question comes up a fair bit but I just thought I’d seek some validation and or see if there are some better suggestions around for something in my price range that will deliver the results for this type of scope.

The scope is f4.9 (reflector) and with focal length of 1500mm. I want to see everything I can - but naturally moon and planets before moving on to DSOs.

So, here’s my plan