•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Starting from zero... Literally

EAA imaging SCT refractor mount Celestron beginner dso
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Daddy-O

Daddy-O

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 August 2020 - 04:44 PM

Hi Everyone!

Let me start out by saying I am a complete novice to all of this. How much of a novice? I just started reading CN early last week trying to absorb everything about telescopes I can. We have a telescope we recently dug out of the basement, but it is very old and frankly not much more than a toy.

So we are currently looking for our first "real" telescope. I recently posted on the beginners forum to solicit ideas from more experienced folks on the correct direction we should go. After doing research on CN I stumbled upon EAA. All I can say is WOW! Some of the captures you all are getting are simply amazing! My family and I would love to do this--

--eventually.

I see a lot of posts from folks saying they have scopes and mounts and want to start EAA with what they have. Makes sense. Best to use what you have to see what is possible. We are at the beginning with the thought that 'no one wants to buy a bunch of stuff only to find out it is not optimal for EAA when they finally decide to go that direction'. So, after posting on the beginners forum and gaining a lot of valuable input, we have determined it might make sense to buy two scopes to start. One for my son to work (age 12) and one for me.

I have narrowed down some scopes that might work for us for visual now, but COULD potentially be used later for EAA. Now I need some input to make a final decision.

I like the idea of getting a refractor that my son could use with a simple Alt-Az mount for now. Here is one that is a contender: https://www.bhphotov...ctor.html/specs