•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Scope recommendations

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 gnome

gnome

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 August 2020 - 08:58 PM

Hello all, I've been lurking and now its time to post. Sorry for yet another 'help me decide my setup' post, but I haven't found a good discussion that follows what I'm looking at. I'm unable to come to a clear decision about what to purchase, and given the current backorder status of everything I want to get in the right waiting line.

My primary goal is visual, with some lightweight astrophotography (yeah, I know you shouldn't start there, but I have to be honest and will attempt it no matter what I get). I'm also a casual photographer (hence the desire to do some AP), and the lesson I've learned with equipment is to get something more in the middle of the line that doesn't make you feel like you've wasted money on something lower quality than you can handle, but balance that knowing that I probably won't get the value of the more expensive professional series equipment. I also like to purchase something that is a mixture of versatile and potentially can be upgraded, should it become important. Portability would be nice, but I'm alright with something heavier if it is more versatile. I am realistic about my AP interest though, as something I'd like to learn and do occasionally and with easier targets.