•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ball scope DSC

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 David Stevenson

David Stevenson

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Italy

Posted 14 August 2020 - 05:00 AM

Hello
I am thinking of building a ballscope, but I can't think of a way of having digital DSC, does anybody have a solution for this? Ideally it would be using accelerometer and magnetometers but I have no experience of this.
Is this doable anyway? Maybe something similar to a drone sensor usage.

Thanks

#2 Pierre Lemay

Pierre Lemay

Surveyor 1

• Loc: MontrĂ©al, Canada

Posted 14 August 2020 - 06:54 AM

David,

We've had many discussions over the years on this forum on that subject. Many theoretical solutions were proposed (computer mice regularly comes up) but for reasons too long to explain, none of them work.

So up until the end of last year there was no easy way to attach a coordinate location system to a ball scope. I know because I've been building ball scopes for thirty years and try as I might, I could not find a solution. But last year Celestron introduced the Starsense plate solving system which uses one's iPhone or Android camera and accelerometers to locate where in the sky the telescope is pointing. And IT works on ball scopes.

You can read more about this system in the CN thread: https://www.cloudyni...sense-explorer/.

• markb likes this

#3 m. allan noah

m. allan noah

Apollo

• Loc: Virginia, USA

Posted 14 August 2020 - 07:03 AM