•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How Do You Polar Align When You Just Have IOptron's IPolar (no regular polar scope)?

mount
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 power2be

power2be

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 14 August 2020 - 09:21 PM

Hi all,

Sorry if this has been discussed before, but I only have so much time to search the forums.

I am a newbie with my IOptron GEM45. Went to a dark site last night to set it up for the first time. I roughly aimed the tripod North at Polaris and leveled it. After I loaded and balanced the equipment on the tripod/mount, I attempted to run iPolar software and it seemed to be running fine. I did struggle to find a proper USB cable the night before since the original one didn't work (no camera detected message) before finally finding one that worked...uggh!..these cables lit up bright blue at their ends in the dark and had no tape to cover them with when the time came to use them.

I was trying to move the Alt/Az screws/adjustment wheel to line up the red star with the red cross. No luck because I ran out of adjustment movement to align the symbols together. Not to mention my fingers were hurting from using the adjuster and allen wrench. 

Looking back, setting up the QHY Polemaster on the Skywatcher EQ6R-Pro was a breeze because it had a built in polar scope you can place Polaris in the scope. Then I used the Polemaster to get to the NCP. I almost regret selling the mount because it was so easy to use. I miss the big adjustment knobs too! It was just to darn heavy to be bringing out to the dark site.

My question is this. How can I get the mount to get roughly polar aligned so that IPolar camera can get within the field of view for the polar alignment to work? What do you IPolar camera with no built-in polar scope users do? 

I appreciate all comments and suggestions!