•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Strange image in Skywatcher Evostar 150 ED mirror

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 bluesilver

bluesilver

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 August 2020 - 11:47 PM

Hi, I am hoping someone on here might be able to help or advise what this image is that i am seeing through my scope.

I have just got a delivery of a brand new Skywatcher Evostar 150 ED
I was just going about a few things checking it out.
I am completely new to these scope as i have always been using a Dobsonian.

I put a diagonal on and had a quick look through it and found what i thought was a smudge mark,
Thinking it was in the diagonal i tool it off but that was clear.
Then just looking straight through the scope i could still see it.
Thinking it was something on the front of the lens, had a look but all clear.
It appears to be inside of the scope.
I have attached a photo of it in the hope someone might be able to tell me what it is before i contact the company i purchased it off in Australia.
( Sorry first time at trying to attach an image on here )

To help explain the image a bit, the grey is just a background to help show the defect in question.
What i am asking about is the triangles that you can see,
What are they?
Is this normal?
Is there an issue with the scope that i need to send it back?Capture.JPG

#2 clusterbuster

clusterbuster

Apollo

• Loc: Tampa Bay, Fl.

Posted 15 August 2020 - 12:35 AM

Hi,

Is it just a REFLECTION of something on the lens ?

Mark

#3 bluesilver

bluesilver

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 August 2020 - 12:57 AM

Hi, thanks for the reply,

I don't think it is,  I have moved the scope around inside my shed and that image appears to stay there all the time.

It just shows up easier with the grey background.