•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moon and Sky Safari question

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 SMH77

SMH77

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 September 2020 - 05:09 PM

Hi. Very much a beginner here. Had my Zhummel Z130 a couple of months. And tonight was the first chance I have had to look at the moon. Which is Waxing Gibbous here in UK. Which I understand means over 50% brightness, not yet a full moon. I was using the supplied 25mm and 10mm earpieces and the detail was surprisingly good. But very bright. After about 10 mins had to stop as it was too bright for me. My question is should I be using a filter in this phase? I do have a 12.5% filter on the way. I also have a 2 x Barlow lens coming, would I be better off using that on the 10mm or the 25mm? I could stretch to a better quality eyepiece in another month if that is a better option. I also have an loosely related question regarding Sky Safari. Tonight was the first time I have been able to see the moon while also being at home to view it with my telescope. As I work nights. So I thought that would be a good point of reference to locate other planets and stars via their location to the moon according to the Sky Safari compass. The only problem is every time I point the phone at the moon it shows me Mars. Location is on, even took it out of the case because I thought the magnet in it was affecting it. Seems to be about 15 -20 degrees out from where it is telling me the moon is. Are their other apps that people use as a location finder? Any answers appreciated. Thanks.

#2 Kevin Thurman

Kevin Thurman

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 01 September 2020 - 06:05 PM