•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope choices, buying advice, AP?

astrophotography beginner dob equipment Maksutov observatory reflector refractor SCT
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Seffer

Seffer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Central Texas

Posted 04 September 2020 - 02:55 PM

Hi!

My wife and I are looking for land in west Texas. It'll likely be within sight of the McDonald Observatory. Within the next year or so I'm hoping to build a roll-off observatory with one or two scopes (or up to three, if you count my current 12" dob). 

I'm looking for advice on which scope or scopes to buy. I'd really appreciate the help. A few things: 

1. I've been using my 12" Sky-Watcher go-to Dobsonian for six or seven years. I live in a city, so for deep-sky observing I have to lug it out to a darker place. Hence, I don't use it as much as I'd like. I do take it out now and again to look at Jupiter and Saturn and maybe a globular cluster or two.
  2. Right now, I'm still primarily interested in visual observing, but I would like to expand to AP. I think once I get out there, I'll want to invest the time and money into picking it up. 
  3. Budget: I'm pretty open to anything between a total of $2,000 and $12,000. This would be for one or two scopes, including some amount for AP equipment. 
  4. AP equipment: I know this is really open ended. Feel free to ballpark this. No need to list specific equipment. I don't know what I would focus on. I'd like to try photographing planets, but also DSOs. Do you need completely different setups for each? If so, I guess I'd choose a setup for DSOs first. Or both setups if they could fit the budget.