•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How do clean-cut LRGB filters tell spectral orange from red?

• Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 5th Gin

5th Gin

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 September 2020 - 03:00 AM

I'm new to astronomy and still purchasing my first telescope/camera, so this might be a very stupid question, but I noticed that most LRGB filters I found are very different from what I expected: very clean cutoffs except a slight overlap between G and B channel for OIII. Can they actually perceive spectral colors like orange, yellow, or violet?

ofil-bp-lrgb-2_1.jpg

As far as I know, human eyes and color cameras perceive a full spectrum of wavelengths based on the ratio among RGB. However, this information seems lost in those filters: an orange spectral color will trigger a full red & luminance channel response and nothing in other channels, just like red will do.

183QE1.jpg

Now of course, a mixture of red and green colors can also appear yellow or orange, which is how computer screens work, and can be captured by those filters. A continuous spectrum like sunlight might work also. But what about those distinct colors? Can they be hinted by those filters at all? (Outside of those popular emission lines which have dedicated narrowbands, of course. I mean - there are plenty of other space objects apart from emission nebulas, right?) Should we avoid those filters then (I did find an Astronomik set with some overlaps in response), or are those colors just so rare in the universe that we can just ignore and mix with others?

astronomik-lrgb-typ2c_trans.png

• Deven Matlick and Simcal like this

#2 sharkmelley

sharkmelley

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: UK

Posted 09 September 2020 - 03:24 AM