•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Difference between ES 102 $1900 & essential series $1199?

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 EEBA

EEBA

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 September 2020 - 04:36 AM

Hi everyone, I have my wo zenithstar 430mm and my SW heq5 that I use for astrophotography. I am fairly new to the hobby and I am enjoying my setup. I have no images in a few weeks because of the fires. I know many Astrophotographers have more than one rig, I decided to start working on my second rig. Since my WO is only 430, I need something bigger. I was debating between the ES 127 [FL 954] and ES 102 [FL 714]. I think weigh wise for my mount, the 102 is a better fit. While researching, I found 2 types of Explorer scientific 102 scopes, one is $1200 and the other is $1800, does anyone know what is the difference. And if you own one . Are you happy with?
PS; the refractor only use will be astrophotography.
Thanks

#2 japaoletti

japaoletti

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Chelsea, Michigan

Posted 16 September 2020 - 07:03 AM

You get better glass in the more expensive one. 

#3 drd715

drd715

Viking 1

• Loc: Fort Lauderdale

Posted 16 September 2020 - 09:32 AM

Consider 115EDT

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

#4 EEBA

EEBA

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 September 2020 - 10:21 AM

Consider 115EDT

But the ES 115 ED FL is only 632ml. The 102 ED FL is 714ml

#5 YAOG

YAOG

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Southern California

Posted 16 September 2020 - 10:56 AM

If you are going to spend $2K on a 100mm class triplet for imaging use only at least get a good one with FPL-53 or better glass and a large solid focuser that can easily have an auto focuser installed.