•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Explore scientific 80mm f/6 fcd100 ed apo and field flattener

astrophotography beginner dslr refractor filters
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 NormFox

NormFox

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Newman, CA

Posted 16 September 2020 - 01:37 PM

Hi Everyone, Newbie here with a question.  I have been a photographer for a number of years, but caught the astrophotography bug (better then COVID-19!) recently. I am currently looking/buying an Explore Scientific 80mm f/6 fcd100 ed apo triplet refractor and have a question about field flatteners with this scope.  I will be using 2 DSLR cameras until I get comfortable with this setup prior to upgrading to CCD/CMOS.  My main camera is a Fugifilm X-T3 (crop) and a Canon 6D Mark II (full frame) and I need some advice about if I will need a field flattener for this setup.  I am planning to mount on a Sky Watcher EQ-6. Any thoughts or reccommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Norm Fox

• Cali likes this

#2 Cali

Cali

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Bay Area

Posted 16 September 2020 - 01:47 PM

Norm

Have you been affected by the fires?

- Cal

• NormFox likes this

#3 AZ Maverick

AZ Maverick

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Prescott, Arizona

Posted 16 September 2020 - 01:51 PM

Yes, you will need a field flattener.

A field flattener is required because the telescope focuses to a spherical image (which is no problem for our eyes and visual use) but the camera sensor is flat and requires a field flattener to compensate, otherwise you will have spherical aberrations as you get to the edge of your image.

• drd715 likes this

#4 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 16 September 2020 - 01:52 PM

With what reads as APS and especially full frame size sensors you will need a flattener.

The question is Which works?