•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need Help Achieving Focus for SCT w/Crayford Focuser

cassegrain equipment Meade optics SCT
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 adamchicago

adamchicago

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 September 2020 - 02:06 PM

Can anyone provide any good tips as to how to achieve focus, literally ANY FOCUS, with this setup?  I struggled for hours last night and couldn't get the main camera nor the OAG camera to achieve any sort of focus.  If it helps at all, the OAG image had a large bright circle in it that I'm guessing means the back-focus is out of whack one way or the other.  I tried adding tube extensions to the OAG and sliding its camera in and out and could never get past this...is it in the right location in this optical train?

A couple questions I have...noting I am new to SCTs and only a few months into this hobby all together:

- Do I have the back focus distances correct? ...note: Optec Reducer lens is 100mm to ZWO 1600 camera sensor

- Is the order of the optical train incorrect?

- How should I set the SCT's focuser...should it be turned all the to the right, or to the left (which direction focuses in vs out)?

- What is a good tried and true process for achieving focus?  On my refractor I usually start with the focus all the way in and slowly edge it out, taking a new photo with each new increment

Setup:

- Meade 10" F10 LX200 SCT

- Starlight 20-2013 SCT to Feather Touch crayford adapter

- Feather Touch crayford focuser

- Optec 0.62 reducer (no flattening)*

- Optec reducer adapter

- 16mm tube extension

- ZWO OAG...with ZWO 174 mini camera

- ZWO 7 place filterwheel

- ZWO 1600mm camera*

* The ZWO 1600mm camera sensor is almost exactly 100mm from the Optec reducer main lens

Thank you for any guidance!!!!!

Attached Thumbnails

• SCT Optical Train SML.jpg