•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Polishing problems

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 aalbay1

aalbay1

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 16 September 2020 - 04:41 PM

Hi, I have some questions about polishing. This is my first telescope so I'm a novice at this stuff. I'm also posting in the forums for the first time so go easy on me :) My scope is 20cm f5.5. I was trying to make the f ratio larger but couldn't seem to make it work so I stayed at this value. Anyway, my current problem is that I've been polishing for about 4 hours and doing ronchi tests at regular intervals but I don't see any improvement. I'm following the instructions on stellafane and according to my ronchi tests, the curve is "overcorrected" meaning I'm seeing curves away from center inside ROC and into center outside ROC. I tried taking a picture but my phone's camera is pretty. I read that this means the mirror is deeper than a sphere so I thought I should raise the curve. To do that, I've been polishing with mirror on top for the last hour and a half.

Another problem I've had is that the outer 4-5 mm radius is not polishing. To make sure I didn't miss anything I went all the way to 1200 grit before starting polishing but that outer rim just doesn't seem to polish out.

I would really appreciate some help on both of these problems because I'm stumped.

Thank you and clear skies,
Alp

Ps. I couldn't paste the pictures but my ronchigrams look alomst exactly like the two under the title "Surface Roughness" in https://stellafane.o...onchigrams.html except the surface roughness part. (I haven't parabolized my mirror and I wasn't planning on it.)

#2 Al Paslow

Al Paslow

Mariner 2

• Loc: SW Pennsylvania

Posted 16 September 2020 - 06:32 PM