•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Time APer - Is this a decent setup/realistic expectations?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 TimothyPleiades

TimothyPleiades

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa, FL

Posted 17 September 2020 - 12:58 AM

I've been pushing around a dob for awhile now, and AP has caught my interest. I already wanted to get a good refractor with a solid tracking mount for visual use, so why not get a camera too? I've never done any photography before, astro or otherwise, and I am in Bortle 8 skies. With that in mind, I'm trying to put some pieces together that will give me a range of things to photograph. Here is what I have in mind at the moment:

Scope: Astro Tech AT115EDT (f/7 805mm)

Mount: EQ6-R

Camera: ZWO ASI294MC Pro (Sensor: 4/3″ SONY IMX294 CMOS, Diagonal: 23.2mm, Resolution: 11.7MP 4144x2822, Pixel Size: 4.63µm)

Guiding: Undecided - scope or OAG?

That combination gives the following field of view and image scale:

with 0.8 FR/FF: 1.7x1.2 degrees ,     1.48"/pixel

native 805 FL:   1.4x0.9 degrees ,     1.18"/pixel

with 2x barlow:  0.68x0.46 degrees , 0.59"/pixel

I'd like to shoot all types of DSOs: globulars, PN, emission, open clusters, and galaxies; mostly medium size objects, or combinations of smaller objects showing the surrounding stars. I searched around on Astrobin and found some images of what I'm going after with similar equipment. Do these look realistic for me?

https://www.astrobin.../71691/?nc=user

https://www.astrobin...9345/0/?nc=user

https://www.astrobin...?page=2&nc=user

https://www.astrobin...0735/0/?nc=user