•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Displaying your Meteorites

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 nyairman

nyairman

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: new york

Posted 18 September 2020 - 08:17 PM

Hello folks. I am new to the world of collecting and learning about these amazing stones and, this particular forum (space rocks). This new found hobby is a run-off of my astrophotography hobby that began in the fall of 2017.  Also, I have always had a fascination with beautiful terrestrial stones. As a child, I used to collect "cool" looking rocks and stones and bought 2 stones from the AMNH on a school field trip!

I have looked through the posts here and there are not many posts on how you folks display your collection(s). During the past 2 weeks, I have purchased 10 (small) meteorites, the largest being about 103g (an iron stone.)  I began with a single item and then purchased 9 others, three each of the major types (stony, iron, and stony irons)

I have a large, lighted, wood / glass shelved China closet, that was not being used so I cleaned it up and thought it would be a nice display for my growing collection. I would like to know your thoughts on this and if anyone is doing the same sort of thing. Also, I will be purchasing a small dehumidifier to place in the cabinet and am looking at small acrylic display stands for the meteorites.

Any tips you can throw my way is appreciated along with some pictures of your displays? Do you include info cards and/or certificates of authentication in the display? What types of stands do you use for small and larger stones? Have you added additional lighting? Any other info?

I will post some pics of my cabinet and collection as soon as I can. 

Thanks for your insights!

#2 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Cosmos

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 18 September 2020 - 08:50 PM