•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help needed on Jupiter and Saturn colors

astrophotography beginner dob imaging planet
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sassenach

Sassenach

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2020 - 03:16 AM

Dear all,

I'm a relatively new beginner in this hobby but, with the help of forum members, have quickly been tweaking my telescope / setup to take okish pictures.

Unfortunately, I am now hitting a roadblock in terms of the quality of the stacked images (before any post processing).

If I look at other forum member pictures, especially of Saturn, they have far more color variation. For example, the inner ring usually looks almost white while the planet has the usual array of colors.

Could you please explain what I may be doing wrong?

I attach some images soon so you can see my best efforts to date (albeit on a day with poor seeing, hence the slight out of focus). I had to decrease res to get file size suitable for CN.

I am using an iPhone for the images and have seen that this person using an iPhone is capable of getting the better color mix:

https://canadianastr...phone/#comments

So I guess I am missing something! :)

My setup is as follows:

Hardware:

Orion Starblast 6

iPhone 7 Plus in holder (set in telephoto mode)

Orion Shorty 2x barlow

ES52 6.5mm lens

EQ platform

Recording:

Using FiLMiC Pro

4K @30fps, 1/60 shutter speed (locked), ISO varied, white balance set as 5200K (sunlight)

Software:

Using Lynkeos for Stacking, approx 1.5 minute long videos

Any help would be gratefully appreciated!

Best wishes,

Andrew

#2 Sassenach

Sassenach

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2020 - 03:17 AM

20-09-19_Jupiter_4K_03.png

#3 Sassenach

Sassenach

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2020 - 03:17 AM