•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Made an Oops - NB Imaging at 0 Gain?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 ESzczesniak

ESzczesniak

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2020 - 12:34 PM

I thought I was getting a good start on my Heart Nebula last night with almost 6.5 hours of Halpha.  Focus is still a bit of an issue through the night, as I'm using ASIAIR to collect images, which still doesn't have autofocus capability.  So it's a Bahtinov mask at the start of the session, and then let it run.  But weather, time, etc seemed to cooperate. 

This morning, I see at some point the gain for my ASI1600MM got switched from unity at 139, to 0 for this image run.  I'm pretty new to this whole AP thing.  I have seen many people are doing LRGB at 0 gain, but NB is recommended at 139.  Probably for a number of reasons, but the most common I've seen is to reduce posterization. 

So, two questions:

1. Should I dump all the data at 0 gain and start over?  As a quick stretch and stack, it doesn't look terrible to my eye.  This is a link to the final stack if anyone is so inclined to take a look and tell me if it looks terrible or not ( https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing ).  This is a stack of lights only.  I had all the calibration files for unity gain.  But I don't have any at 0 gain.  So if it shows some hope, I'll have to acquire those and restack.

2. If I keep this Halpha, there's no reason I couldn't go back to unity gain for OIII and SII, correct? 

I appreciate any input.  Unfortunately I don't know that my eye is good enough yet to say "this is bad data".  And while I'd rather not lose a whole night of imaging, I'd rather know now than after 2 more nights. 

#2 DRK73

DRK73

Viking 1

• Loc: Maryland, United States

Posted 19 September 2020 - 12:58 PM