•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

DSO imaging on a very tight budget

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DennyD

DennyD

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2020 - 02:18 PM

I'm new to astrophotography and made the change from using my smartphone to a dedicated astrophotography camera. My telescope is a Meade ETX-90RA with a ZWO ASI120MC-S and Nikon D40 DSLR. As much as I'd like to upgrade from the ASI120MC-S to an ASI224MC, my budget won't allow for that. Is the ASI120MC-S a good camera for DSOs? I do plan to get a .5 focal reducer to use with it. Any thoughts, help, and advice would be greatly appreciated. Denny.

#2 Shelldrake

Shelldrake

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 19 September 2020 - 02:35 PM

Although you can use your ASI120MC-S to image small DSOs (I went this route when I first started astrophotography - see attached images), it is not optimal as this OSC camera is really meant for planetary imaging. In this regard, you will not gain anything upgrading to an ASI224MC. You may not be able to reach focus with a .5 focal reducer and the ASI120MC-S. This combination did not work with my ST80 refractor. In any case, your Nikon DSLR will give you better results on galaxies and star clusters although emission nebula really need an astro-modified DSLR.

David

Attached Thumbnails

• Collage.jpg

• drd715 likes this

#3 sg6

sg6

Cosmos

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 19 September 2020 - 02:44 PM

First thought is the Meade 90RA is not the best scope.

For DSO imaging the 90RA is going to be difficult, even with a 0.5 reducer - is there such a thing for the 90RA ?

I think the 120MC is a small sensor so target selection will be important.