•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

need help with CCD photometry question

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 ASTERON

ASTERON

Surveyor 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: ISRAEL

Posted 20 September 2020 - 03:08 AM

I am a newbie interested in starting doing stellar photometry.  Sorry about the dumb questions but I need to make a decision about  buying a used camera or not

I need help with the following questions:

1) How critical is the age and pixel column defect status of a CCD imager to the accuracy of the measured results ?

2) If the sensor has a large number of hot pixels, would this affect the measured results.

3) Can I use bias and dark frame subtraction methods successfully to correct for pixel defects ?

4) How many pixels are typically involved with measuring the flux of a single star and how will one or more hot pixels degrade the results to uselessness ?

5) How do you deal with column defects in photometry?

6) In principle would I be OK buying an old ( Ca. 10 years or more) CCD camera with some ( limited) sensor defects, or should I break the bank and go for a new class 1 sensor camera  at the risk of annoying the CFO ?

7) I will be using a AT8RC F/9  ( possibly with the dedicated Astro-tech FR to achieve about F/6)  with the camera, what is the best sensor size and type for such a scope.

8) Are CCD cameras worse or better than the modern CMOS sensor cameras on the market for photometry ?

9) Do newer CMOS based sensors have sufficiently linear response near the full well capacity ?

10) how critical is the antiblooming feature of  CCD sensors to successful photometry, am I truely better of with a sensor with no antiblooming or is it possible to use a CCD with antiblooming  by avoiding using the full well capacity and staying in the linear range of the CCD ?