•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iOptron CEM40 and the clutches

beginner equipment mount
  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 barnold84

barnold84

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 20 September 2020 - 09:39 AM

Hi,

I just ordered an iOptron CEM40 mount. In the meantime I studied the manual a bit to get acquainted with what I have to expect and be aware of.

One thing that I noticed is that iOptron seems to be obsessed about the worm gear. Contrary to some other manufacturers manuals they mention many times to open the clutches/gear locks when doing something specific.
Certainly, it’s good and reasonable to open the RA lock when attaching counterweight shaft and weight. But how about mounting the optics on the saddle?
I would assume that it’s safe and intended to close the gear locks to mount the OTA and additional equipment. If you handle some heavy equipment and try to place it on a wobbly mount, accident is preprogrammed.

Björn

#2 Michael Covington

Michael Covington

Author

• Vendors
  • Loc: Athens, Georgia, USA

Posted 20 September 2020 - 10:03 AM

Here is my protocol (GEM45, which is almost identical to CEM40):  

Locks OFF when transporting the mount head in the case.
ON when lifting the mount head out of the case and putting it on the tripod.
ON when leaving the mount head on the tripod.
OFF when attaching the counterweights.
ON when attaching the telescope.
OFF when adjusting balance (of course).

ON the rest of the time.

Never put a lock HALF ON.  That would mean the gears are tooth-to-tooth instead of tooth-between-teeth.  If a lock will only go halfway on, wiggle the mount a little until it locks the rest of the way.

If leaving the mount head on the tripod, remove the counterweight bar so it doesn't get bumped.