•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mars Viewing Expectations

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 android69

android69

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Virginia

Posted 20 September 2020 - 10:03 PM

I’m fairly new to astronomy and viewing. I have a Celestron 8” Evolution SCT which has been fun to view the sky’s with with my go to views being Saturn, Jupiter, The Moon, M31 and for the first time tonight Mars. I had limited time for viewing and Mars was maybe 20 degrees above the horizon with clear skies (finally) here in central Virginia. With me were a Plossl 15mm, 32mm and 40mm. While seeing the planet was interesting it was less than the wow factor I had when I first saw Jupiter and Saturn. What I observed with Mars was the following with all three eye pieces. There seemed to be a lot of CA. Detail was just about non-existent and all I could make out was a round object with color tones of peach. I did make out one small dot near Mars which may or may not have been one of its two moon. I’m not disappointed but really just curious if these are typical views for the equipment and conditions I had. I also had a view of M32 for the first time ever so that made up for Mars’ less than stellar showing.

Edited by android69, 20 September 2020 - 10:04 PM.

#2 JMP

JMP

Viking 1

Posted 20 September 2020 - 10:19 PM

Frankly Mars is disappointing this year. Back in 2003 and 2005 I could see a lot of detail by eye. With your scope the best views will be when the planet is highest in the sky, about 3 AM now and 1 AM in mid October. The polar ice cap is a mere speck, and the darker patches are just a darker shade of peach. You should be able to use a 10mm eyepiece, 200x or even a 7mm eyepiece for about 300x. But this year the detail is very faint.

Jeff P

#3 Napp

Napp

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Florida, USA