•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is this sub-frame out of focus?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 jezphil

jezphil

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 September 2020 - 03:35 AM

Okay, I know this is probably a stupid question, but I'm a beginner here, so please bear with me...  I set up to take some narrowband shots of Melotte 15 last night. I started with a good, crisp Batinov mask focus and kept a nicely tight PHD2 guiding graph, then got the target framed. So far, so good, and a step forward for me. 

I took a 300 second Ha sub frame which is attached here, roughly stretched and hugely compressed. Just checking, but the issue with this shot is that it is out of focus, right? Somehow, although I started with a perfect focus, I think my telescope got defocused during the workflow of star alignment and PHD2 calibration. I was about to refocus when the clouds moved in. Will be back out tonight, refocusing just before taking any subs, but please can you confirm that's the issue with this shot?

Melotte 15 out of focus.jpg

Edited by jezphil, 21 September 2020 - 03:37 AM.

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 21 September 2020 - 03:38 AM

Yes, clearly out of focus.

Make sure your focuser is tight after focusing. Also you may have to refocus if temperature changes (few degrees) during imaging run.

• dswtan likes this

#3 jezphil

jezphil

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 September 2020 - 03:42 AM

Yes, clearly out of focus.

Make sure your focuser is tight after focusing. Also you may have to refocus if temperature changes (few degrees) during imaging run.

Thank you! Will get this nailed in the end.

#4 drd715

drd715

Viking 1

• Loc: Fort Lauderdale

Posted 21 September 2020 - 09:10 AM