•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which t-ring adaptor for Sony a6400 and 8" Dob?

dslr dob equipment
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DakotaHoosier

DakotaHoosier

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Indianapolis, IN area

Posted 21 September 2020 - 10:18 PM

I'm enjoying visual imaging but as a photographer I'm dying to get some pics, simply to help others see what I was seeing. I bought a T-Ring adapter for my Sony a6400 to attach to 8" Dobsonian. Everything fits/connects, but I don't know enough to put the camera sensor at the focus point. If I add a 2x Barlow, I'm getting closer, but I'd like to image without the Barlow.
I either need MORE or LESS distance. Do I need the T-Ring without the extension (I think it is there to account for the difference in set-back between a DSLR and mirrorless camera)? Do I need to add an extension tube or something? I don't mind spending a little money on experimenting but I'd rather head in the right direction if anyone can guide me...
74822bde-23cd-4a17-ada9-392e1a885247_1.6

#2 TelescopeGreg

TelescopeGreg

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Auburn, California, USA

Posted 21 September 2020 - 10:35 PM

Generally, a Newtonian telescope that's configured for visual work will have a problem getting a DSLR to prime focus, due to not enough inward travel of the focuser.  Adding a Barlow is a bad fix, as it makes it several times harder to do deep sky imaging.  If you have an extension, by all means try removing it.  That might do it.  You can check things during the day with the proverbial "distant object".  Nighttime focus will be slightly inward from that.