•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question on DSLR + iOptron Skyguider Pro Polar Alignment with Sharp Cap & ZWO Guidescope and camera

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Zanetti2102

Zanetti2102

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 24 September 2020 - 12:28 AM

Wow I love this site! I have learned so much from all of you and I am thankful for that. So I have been imaging for a couple of years now using an Ha modified Nikon D5500 and a Tamron 150-600mm G2 that has been treating me well, but when I finally decided to start auto-guiding and ran into some issues and wanted to see if anyone out there could provide insight or tell me what I'm doing wrong. Beyond the camera and lens mentioned earlier I have a ZWO 120mm-s and the ZWO 30mm f/4 attached to the hot-shoe and it is very sturdy with no wobble. I get "good" polar alignment in Sharp Cap and PHD2 looks ok +/- 2 arc seconds but the problem is I can get less star trails and longer exposures with out all of this gear! I could get 1 min exposures unguided at 600mm without the guide cam using the built in polar scope, but now I'm at 30 seconds and starting to see star trails with the guide scope. Here is my theory and I welcome all thoughts and suggestions: I think the problem is the guide scope alignment vs. the Skyguider Pro main pivoting axis point is a problem for a accurate polar alignment due to the need to have to "eyeball" the left right movement of the round declination camera/lens mounting block (the round piece that attaches the lens tripod foot or camera to the declination bracket). Does that makes sense? In comparison to telescopes that have the dovetail mount for the guide scope built-in so there in no swivel from left to right like the Skyguider Pro. I'm truly baffled how people are getting 5 minutes of guided exposures on the Sky