•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Filter for nebula

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 ivazquez

ivazquez

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Guadalajara, Spain

Posted 24 September 2020 - 05:45 AM

Hi all,

I'm a fairly newbie in astronomy. I'm just starting to be able to find some deep sky objects using the star hopping technique. But I live in a contamited area (should be suburban but it's very near Madrid) and faint objects are really hard to see. The only nebulas I've been able to observe are the Orion Nebula, a bit of the Lagoon Nebula and the Ring nebula.

Looking for a filter, I found one in AliExpress that it's supposed to pass H-Beta and both lines of O-III. It's not a UHC filter since it does not pass the red wavelenghts. It's sold as an H-Beta filter but with a 25 nm passband it also passes O-III. Supposing it meets its specs, do you think it would be a good filter? It's somehow similar to Orion Ultrablock.

I've attached the transmission diagram.

My scope is a 6 f/8 dobson.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Thumbnails

• Captura.JPG

Edited by ivazquez, 24 September 2020 - 05:46 AM.

#2 SloMoe

SloMoe

Gemini

• Loc: Washington State

Posted 24 September 2020 - 06:10 AM

You cancompare that to others by going to this site,

https://searchlight....9d-153d7e7c0eb8

Now over on the right is a drop down filter list, toggle the selected filter by clicking the box next to the filter you want to compare and you can stack as many as you want on top of each other,

that sure looks like a UHC to me

If that's the graph of the filter you're getting then it's a bit weak in light pass percentage, if it's a representation from a web site I might thing twice about it, plus Lumicon's Gen III Nebula filter is on sale right now, till the end of the month.

Edited by SloMoe, 24 September 2020 - 06:12 AM.