•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Arizonans/Phoenicians: Asking for Advice on Travel Astronomy

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 mg07

mg07

Sputnik

• topic starter

Posted 25 September 2020 - 02:26 PM

Hi all, I'm a beginner with an 8 inch dob in the midwest. I have a work trip to Phoenix coming up around new moon period in December, and am itching to get out to some of Arizona's dark skies. This presents the obvious problem: I can't bring my scope with me.

I am assuming there's no local scope rental program/shop.  I suppose I could get a 12 inch (which would be a nice upgrade for me I'd like to have eventually) and try to ship it home in the original packaging afterward as well, but that seems risky and probably at least as expensive.

Does anyone have a suggestion for situations like this?

It looks like the Saguaro Astro Club has a cool site at the "Antennas" location. Has anyone been there? Seems hard to pass up the opportunity, especially while it will be all freezing and clouds in the midwest.

#2 Xeroid

Xeroid

Surveyor 1

• Loc: USA

Posted 25 September 2020 - 02:46 PM

Instead, how about stuffing a Celestron C6 + carbon tripod in a back pack for carry-on?

The C6 would be very good at a dark site plus minimum hassle to bring back home.

#3 bob71741

bob71741

Apollo

Posted 25 September 2020 - 02:57 PM

mg07 - The antennas site has been sold and is no longer (?) available for use?

see post here : https://www.cloudyni...d-and-now-this/

#4 mg07

mg07

Sputnik

• topic starter

Posted 25 September 2020 - 03:51 PM

Rats! Well then any good ideas for winter-friendly spots in the area?

#5 radial195

radial195

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Kingman, Az.

Posted 25 September 2020 - 05:07 PM