•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope to use with DSLR

astrophotography beginner dslr equipment
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 amitshesh

amitshesh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 September 2020 - 05:09 PM

I have been reading various posts here about my new quest, but posting for the first time!

I want to buy a telescope for myself and my kids. I am interested in viewing planets and brighter DSOs. But one of the main requirements for me is that I should be able to take pictures using my DSLR and my telescope. I have just started in astrophotography (so far, taken pictures of the moon, Comet Neowise, Milky Way) using a DSLR and tripod and no tracking (Nikon D5300, 35mm f/1.8 prime and a Tamron 18-400mm lens). I am self-taught, but am reasonably comfortable with using a DSLR in manual mode and postprocessing.

I have read many posts here to understand what equipment I need, what will fit in my budget and what will get me most value. It is overwhelming! But I have shortlisted these telescopes:

1. Orion Spaceprobe 130ST.

2. Orion XT6 or XT8 (price difference isn't major, but will the extra cost + weight be worth it?)

3. I read only today from a forum here about Apertura AD8. There is also DT6. No idea how their image and build quality compares to Orion.