•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner looking to view DSOs with the option of Astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 quasarseeker

quasarseeker

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 25 September 2020 - 08:01 PM

Hi,

I'm a beginner with no prior experience of telescopes. I'm interested in buying a telescope to view DSOs (galaxies, nebulae etc.) and planets to start with.
It would be nice to know about telescopes which can also be used to photograph some of the deep sky objects with a DSLR if I wish to pursue that as a hobby at a later stage. My budget is around EUR 500-600.

Thanks!  :) 

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 25 September 2020 - 08:38 PM

Two crucial things to know.

Visual astronomy and imaging are _completely_ different.  The camera is not some advanced version of your eyes, it's completely different.

That means:

One setup will not be good for both.

The mount is the most important part of a DSO imaging setup.  NOT the scope or the camera.

DSO imaging is both complicated and expensive.  The bigger the telescope the more expensive it is.  At your budget the only reasonable setup is camera tracker/camera/lens (a small telescope).  And even that will be a stretch, unless you use an existing camera and lens.  But it's an excellent way to start in DSO imaging.

Before considering imaging, or, especially, buying anything, you should read this book.

https://www.astropix...bgda/index.html

The best visual setup in your budget is a Dobsonian telescope.  If you buy the right one, you could image the Moon and planets.  Buy the wrong one, you'll be unable to focus with a DSLR.  In any event, a Dobsonian is of no use to a beginner for DSO imaging.

Edited by bobzeq25, 25 September 2020 - 08:42 PM.

#3 Keith Rivich

Keith Rivich

Vanguard

• Loc: Cypress, Tx