•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Second crack at imaging planets with smartphone

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Fiz79

Fiz79

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Markham, Ontario, Canada

Posted 26 September 2020 - 11:11 PM

Hey all!

I posted an image of Mars in another topic that I had taken a couple of days ago, but the magnification was low. Tried again tonight, and also took a stab at Jupiter and Saturn. I'm still learning the ins and outs of what looks good with wavelets in Registax, but wanted to share the images. These were taken, like my previous image of Mars, with my 80 mm refractor telescope (8 mm setting on zoom eyepiece, and 2x Barlow), a digiscoping adapter, and an old iPhone 6s I have lying around. Images were shot with Nightcap camera app.

Feedback is most welcome, especially regarding the sharpening from messing with the wavelets. Thanks!

Jupiter (September 26th, 2020).png

Saturn1.png

Mars (September 26th, 2020).png

Edited by Fiz79, 26 September 2020 - 11:12 PM.

• trainsktg, Jaimo!, jrkirkham and 4 others like this

#2 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

• Loc: Pampanga, PI

Posted 26 September 2020 - 11:47 PM

You're way ahead of me on this. Very nice job, actually, given the difficulties. As you work out the bugs, wonder if it can rival the pros? :)

• Fiz79 likes this

#3 Fiz79

Fiz79

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 September 2020 - 11:59 PM

Thanks, appreciate it!

Haha, I don't think I'll be rivaling anyone anytime soon. My telescope is modest in size and I'm snapping pics with my phone, but hey - it can only get better from here! I don't see myself getting really hardcore into astrophotography. I spent maybe an hour taking video and then processing the images after, in total. Pales in comparison to what others do when imaging.