•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

USA Made Binos?

binoculars
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 rmbennett30

rmbennett30

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: Ocala, Florida

Posted 27 September 2020 - 07:03 AM

I am looking to get back into this hobby and wanted to start with binoculars.   I am a diehard American and am not wanting to purchase products made overseas.  It seems this Astronomy hobby has almost all of it manufactured overseas.   Does anyone know of Binoculars that are produced in the USA good for Astronomy???  Please let me know as I am fairly new to this hobby and just cant find any USA made not just assembled...  MADE in the USA binos???

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Voyager 1

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 27 September 2020 - 07:12 AM

I suggest you take up stamp collecting instead. ;-)
  • Albie, Traveler, GamesForOne and 2 others like this

#3 otocycle

otocycle

Apollo

Posted 27 September 2020 - 07:34 AM

Take a look at Maven binoculars for USA manufacturing...glass types may be imported from Japan or Germany:

https://mavenbuilt.c...ions/binoculars

#4 ihf

ihf

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: California, USA

Posted 27 September 2020 - 10:56 AM

Take a look at Maven binoculars for USA manufacturing...glass types may be imported from Japan or Germany:

https://mavenbuilt.c...ions/binoculars

FAQ says

Where are they built?

We use premium Japanese components for S, B, and RS Series optics. The S Series and B Series are assembled in a military standard (MIL-SPEC) facility in San Diego, and are then shipped to our headquarters in Lander, Wyoming where we inspect and test for quality assurance. The RS Series is assembled in Japan, and the C Series are assembled in the Philippines. Once assembled, they are shipped to our headquarters where each batch is sample-tested for quality assurance.

• Jon Isaacs likes this