•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

So what telescope do I buy?

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Supergiant

Supergiant

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 27 September 2020 - 08:05 PM

I am going to upgrade--

Here is my situation:  I understand optics and know there is a law of diminishing returns.  I purchased a Celestron 6SE a few years ago and could not figure it out--poor choice for a complete beginner.  I thought the construction/design was good.  I never could get it to align and I sold it.

I started over again and bought a Meade Infinity 102--I have used it for a year, upgraded some eypieces, am very comfortable finding the brighter Messiers and of course the planets.

I have a good system when I do out--charts, chair, I even can get out to a pretty dark sky--15-20 miles away from a city.  About 20 minutes away-- 

So here's the story--I think I have gotten all I can from the Meade--good scope, mount leaves alot to be desired--focus is tricky when going up in magnification.

I want to punch deeper into the cosmos--very very difficult with a point and go wobbly mount.

What are my options?

1. Now that I have a better understanding of the sky, do I try again with the 6SE?  Around $800 

2. Is the 8"SE better or does that push the limit of that mount? Around $1200

3.  How much LESS of a scope is the Celestron 5SE? (5" vs. 6" vs. 8")

4.  I will not be using a camera and do not plan on using WIFI on a laptop.

Do I go all out and buy the Evolution?  Starting at $1400

I really don't want to spend the farm on this--Is the Evolution worth the cost or does the SE do everything I would use it for.  I get out about once a week in the backyard.  I have a truck so a small car is not a limit when I need to pack things up.

Is there another alternative better than average more than entry level scope I am not seeing?