•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for advice on 8" Dob

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Lunacies

Lunacies

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 September 2020 - 08:27 AM

Hey guys, I am new to astronomy and looking to upgrade my telescope to something a bit better that will last me a while and give me good quality views of the moon, planets, and hopefully be able to see some DSOs as I learn the sky better.

I currently have a 60mm Celestron Firstscope 60Az  that was gifted to my by a friend. I recently started using it and getting into astronomy more and wanted something better. I had been looking around and the general consensus seemed to be to get a dob for the most cost effective best views. I started looking into an 8" dob, the Apertura AD8 in particular is what I see recommended a lot of a good deal with accessories, however everything appears to be out of stock everywhere. I found a OrionXT4.5 over the weekend for $50 that I picked up as it seemed cheap and would be a step up over my current scope, however I still would like to eventually get something bigger once I get a little better at using it and finding things in the sky.

Basically my question is, is there much of a difference between different models? I saw an Orion XT8 for sale on the classifieds that is in my state for a decent price and would save me $200 or so from buying one used. Is buying a used telescope typically a decent idea or do you run the risk of things being wrong with it etc? Is that XT8 and AD8 essentially the same scope minus the extras the AD8 might come with such as the fan etc? Would it be overall better for me as a beginner to just try and buy the cheaper used one and start with that vs buying a brand new one?