•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Equipment letting me down... Where should I go from here?

• Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 spiantino

spiantino

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 01 October 2020 - 03:44 PM

Hi friends!

Like many people, I took up the hobby of astrophotography this year during the pandemic and got instantly hooked. In my day job I'm a software engineer, so the technical challenges were exciting to me, and I like to think I progressed quickly in learning, moving from using a telephoto lens to shoot the moon, to a skyguider pro and some very blurry nebula photos, to a redcat51 and a sony a7 that helped me get to some pretty sharp andromeda and NGC7000 captures.

During the summer I plotted an upgrade and have been slowly assembling the following into my "real rig":

* HEQ5 mount

* Explore Scientific ED127CF scope

* William Optics 50mm guidescope with asi290mm camera

* asi6200mc pro

* ASIair to control everything

* various other dew heaters, power cables, adapters etc.

It has taken me many, many sessions of tinkering to get to a point where I can operate it all, but I have the hang of everything and I'm still not getting good images. I actually think I may have a fundamental problem here - the scope is slow, and with the size of the camera I'm using I will need long (5m+) exposures to get any usable dynamic range. The mount doesn't seem to be able to provide stable enough guiding for that length, though. Even worse, with all the extenders I need to get focus to the camera from that scope, the imaging train is very long and pretty often the camera will come into contact with the legs of the mount, messing up EVERYTHING (focus, mount alignment, loosening connectors and extender tube connections... everything)