•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Observatory, Internal Lighting Solutions

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Stef

Stef

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, UK

Posted 07 October 2020 - 06:46 PM

I’m guessing that this topic may have already popped up in the past, but as I’m new to this discussion forum, I was hoping to revisit this & compile your thoughts, experience and perhaps some images to help me assess the options out there.  

So my question is:

What type of low level, dimmable red lights & fixtures are being used out there?

240V supply to my disposal.  

I’m interested in something that looks great and functions well.  Internal use only. 

I look forward to seeing your response.

Kind regards and best wishes from the UK.

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 07 October 2020 - 07:00 PM

I use LED tape lights like this.  It's dimmable, you'd need a 12V dimmer.  I don't dim, the lights are either on (setup) or off (imaging).

https://www.amazon.c...g/dp/B08D1WHBJG

• Stef, Stevegeo and 3rd Rock like this

#3 BlakeMC

BlakeMC

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Utah

Posted 07 October 2020 - 07:46 PM

https://www.cloudyni...-2#entry8047206

Similar to bobzeq25, LED strip lights.  Links to the parts are in the post.

• Stef, bobzeq25 and Stevegeo like this

#4 kathyastro

kathyastro

Vanguard

• Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 07 October 2020 - 07:50 PM

I use a set of 120v red Christmas lights.  They dim just fine on a standard light dimmer, though they get a bit flakey at extremely low levels.  I also have some 12v LEDs to illuminate the computer keyboard.

There is also white lighting for maintenance-type activities.  A lighting master switch disables the white lights when the red lights are in use and vice versa.

• Stef and AstroFrankMontana like this

#5 Taylor

Taylor

Apollo