•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with Darks & Flats

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Cey42

Cey42

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Kirkland, WA

Posted 15 October 2020 - 02:31 PM

I am new to EAA and I am trying to figure how to use flats and darks. I have tried several times and read various posts and I still cannot figure out what I am doing wrong.

My set up is a Celestron C6-S GT XLT with a 6.3FR using a ZWO 294MC camera.

I have made sure that I am applying the flats and dark at the same resolution, exposure and gain.

Here is what I am seeing. This is an image with no flat or dark applied. I modified the display histogram to make the vignetting more obvious. This is live view, no stacking.

1-Before.jpg

Now I apply the flat.

2-FlatOnly.jpg

As expected, the vignetting is greatly improved.

Now I add the dark. This is both the dark and flat on live view.

3-Flat+Dark.jpg

The vignetting looks a little worse.

Now I try live stacking with both the dark and flat applied with 16 seconds subs. This what I get.

4-Stack.jpg

Horrible vignetting.

Any idea on what am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

#2 Forward Scatter

Forward Scatter

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Wandering the PNW

Posted 15 October 2020 - 04:22 PM

HI Cey

How did you do your flats? You mention "applying the flats and dark at the same resolution, exposure and gain". That goes for darks, but flats are a different story.