•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ready to Start Imaging!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 svsalako

svsalako

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Vermont

Posted 17 October 2020 - 07:57 PM

Hi All --

After an agonizing period of weeks during which my brand new EQ6R-Pro didn't work, I have finally resolved the problem by replacing the motor board. Before, no communication with EQMOD, NINA or anything else. Now, it works perfectly. Today I was able to successfully connect NINA to my camera, my guide scope, and the mount.

So, as a total newbie, I'd love some suggestions for a first target to image, as well as any settings like ISO, length of exposure, and so on. Here are my particulars:

1) Location: Vermont, rural, bortle 3 on a good night

2) Telescope: AT72EDII w/ Televue .8 reducer flattener

3) Mount: EQ6R-Pro

4) Guide Can: ZWO ASI 120 mini

5) Camera: Canon DSLR 77D

6) Software: NINA and PHD II

Thanks for all the support, advice, and suggestions.

Cheers, and clear skies!

Grey

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 17 October 2020 - 08:02 PM

Here is a spreadsheet I created with targets ordered by RA, with best day of the year listed, and estimating best FL for particular sensor size.   Enter in your Lat and Long.

Attached File  Astro Targets.xlsx   24.5KB   23 downloads

• acommonsoul and rkinnett like this

#3 AhBok

AhBok

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 17 October 2020 - 08:12 PM

Andromeda comes to mind immediately. It’s a great first target that is easy to find and not too difficult to process. Try ISO400 with your Canon. Use 120 sec exposures and try to get at least 30-40 of them. Yes, more is better, but an hours worth of exposure will be easy and produce an image you will remember for life. Get at least 20 darks, flats and bias frames, too.