•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8” Reflector eyepiece advice (I’m a newbie)

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 MacTec

MacTec

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 October 2020 - 05:17 AM

Hi guys. I’m extremely new to this stuff and picked up an 200mm (8”)dobsonian reflector 1,200mm focal length ( I’m from Australia, so, you know, metric system) which came with the stock standard 10mm and 25mm plossl eyepieces. I managed to view a bit of Jupiter but not convinced that the scope is properly collimated and the included eyepiece aren’t great to look through so first up I’ve ordered a laser collimator to check the mirrors, but I’m also thinking I should invest in a better eyepiece. 

So the question I need help with is, if I could only buy one size eyepiece that would give me decent deep sky viewing but also if I then also grabbed a 2x Barlow, would give me good planetary viewing ie details on Jupiter and Saturn’s rings etc. what would be the most appropriate size?

The other question is, to get viewing of Andromeda would I need to get a focal reducer, or just not really possible with a telescope this size?

Many thanks for any advice. 

Edited by MacTec, 18 October 2020 - 05:18 AM.

#2 MickTaurus

MickTaurus

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 18 October 2020 - 06:38 AM

So the question I need help with is, if I could only buy one size eyepiece that would give me decent deep sky viewing but also if I then also grabbed a 2x Barlow, would give me good planetary viewing ie details on Jupiter and Saturn’s rings etc. what would be the most appropriate size?

The other question is, to get viewing of Andromeda would I need to get a focal reducer, or just not really possible with a telescope this size?

Hi Mac, I have a NexStar 8se and find 32mm Omni Plossl one of the best for DSO's.