•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best scope to match with Asi 533?

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 adamsdp

adamsdp

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 October 2020 - 01:23 PM

I am fairly new to eaa and looking for advice as to which scope/focal reducer combination would be the best fit for general purpose eaa with the asi 533 camera.  I will be using an Celestron evolution mount with the setup and have come up with the following ideas-

1 -  c6/hyperstar - fast but not the best match with the pixel size of the asi533 - undersampling 2.59"/pixel

2 -  c6/starizona night owl - not as fast but better match with pixel size - 1.29"/pixel

3 -  c8/starizona night owl - another good match with pixel size - 0.97"/pixel

4  - c8/6.3 reducer - slight oversampling - 0.62"/pixed

5  - c8 edge/0.7 reducer - slight oversampling - 0.55"/pixel

I have a c8 edge with starsense mounted to the ota and was planning to keep it for visual use and have a second scope dedicated for eaa thinking this would be the simplest way to go - I leave each scope with camera and eyepieces attached and switch the ota.  Does anyone have thoughts on the second scope vs trying to just use the c8 edge for visual and eaa?  As I have gotten into this deeper, I realize that either I need to get a second starsense unit for the dedicated eaa scope or do a skyalign and hopefully be able to use the 533 in preview mode to do the alignment.  If it is not practical to use the 533 to do the mount alignment, I am back to swapping out the camera for an eyepiece and makes less sense to have a second scope.